Changing threads

I’ve been trying to figure out how to finish – hand quilting – my Calico Rose quilt.
I machine quilted over the main sewing lines with stitch in the ditch and did the binding too, only one task remained: to add that final touch what hand quilting means.

DSCN3906

First I started with fine white sewing thread but after a while I pointed out that the pattern is almost unrecognizable. Then I changed threads and tried another simple pattern around one of the star blocks. I didn’t liked it either.

DSCN3909

Then I was looking for some inspiration and had found that simple, easy but eye-catching hand quilted rows of various colors of Perlé 8 embroidery floss.

DSCN3913

A small paper bag of rainbow colored threads I purchased on this occasion. (I know it is a nice amount of threads but I have another quilts where I can use them up.)

DSCN3916

No marking lines, I just try to follow the previously quilted line beside the actual row I am stitching.

DSCN3911

The border will look something like this (not finished yet).

Now you know how I spend my evenings – after the kids are in bed – with this lovely quilt and enjoy slow stitching.

 

5 thoughts on “Changing threads

    • I am so glad you like it! The quilt is getting ready slow but steady. When finished I think it will be the most precious one in our home. Your good words mean so much to me. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

