Men’s shirts quilt

This quilt top is a result – besides the flannel baby quilt – of the purging process I am carrying through during this year in the wardrobe/closet where I keep some of my fabric stash.

DSCN3954

I collected a bag full of used quality men’s shirts for some years and lastly I picked this pile with the strong intention to make a quilt.

DSCN3495

There were times when I wanted to simply throw out the bag containing the shirts but in the end I just couldn’t part with it. I was in the ‘use it or lose it’ situation, so I finally decided to use up the shirts after selecting the ones with coordinated colors. All shirts I used are in good condition for I don’t want to have it frayed or torn after some time of using.

DSCN3536

In the last two months I could accomplish the quilt top very easy. I chose a large hexagon pattern – I made the templates myself from cardboard – and the quilt grew and grew very fast, opposite to my small hexie quilt I’ve been working on for more than two years.

DSCN3956

More and more room freed up in the wardrobe/closet. Yay!

I plan to hand quilt it too with fitting colors of PerlΓ© 8.

And you can have a sneak peek in the top left corner of the photo of the teacher’s quilt that is in progress too.

Have a nice day!

3 thoughts on “Men’s shirts quilt

    • Yes, and it was fun! I made far more hexagon templates as needed and I plan to make a bigger large hexie quilt in my favorite colors in the future. Hand piecing and quilting is my new passion. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

